Each year, 2 papers are selected as the best from all of those published in the journal Protein Science in the preceding year. The first authors of the winning papers are invited to give talks at the annual Protein Society Symposium (www.proteinsociety.org/symposium) as part of the main scientific program. This is a very rare opportunity for a protein scientist just at the outset of their career to gain invaluable experience and share the stage with accomplished researchers from around the world.

The winning paper:

Minttu Virkki, Nitin Agrawal, Elin Edsbacker, Susana Cristobal, Arne Elofsson, Anni Kauko (2014) Folding of aquaporin 1: Multiple evidence that helix 3 can shift out of the membrane core.  Protein Sci. 23:981-992

The full text of the announcement is available here: