The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the 2016 Crafoord Prize in Mathematics to

Yakov Eliashberg, Stanford University, Stanford, California, USA
“for the development of contact and symplectic topology and groundbreaking discoveries of rigidity and flexibility phenomena”

and the 2016 Crafoord Prize in Astronomy to

Roy Kerr, University of Canterbury, Christchurch, New Zealand, and
Roger Blandford, Stanford University, CA, USA
for fundamental work concerning rotating black holes and their astrophysical consequences”.

Read more about the prize