

SU Young Faculty 2018-02-05

Time and place: SU Young Faculty Meeting

13:00 2018-02-01 Heilbronnsalen, C458

Present: 28 people, all active members of SU Young Faculty

See the list at the end of the document

Meeting Chair: Anne Soerensen

Secretary: Henrietta Nielsen

### § 1 Introduction

Henrietta Nielsen (DBB) briefed on the background for the meeting then Anne Soerensen (ACES) declared the meeting for open.

### § 2 Selection of secretary

Henrietta Nielsen was chosen to take the minutes.

### § 3 Approval of agenda

The agenda distributed at the meeting was approved.

#### § 4 Criteria for membership of the Young Faculty

Similar to the sister organizations at other Swedish Universities, it was decided that members of the Young Faculty should be active at the Stockholm University Faculty of Science and have a position as postdoc, researcher or assistant professor – more specifically be staff with a PhD that has not yet earned tenure. All members must be registered on the Young Faculty mailing list. Membership will be free and everyone can join and leave the organization (mailing list) on their own initiative.

### § 5 Organization of Young Faculty mailing list for members

It was decided that members present at the meeting would be added to a Young Faculty mailing list to which new members can be continuously added. It was also decided that all potential members at the university that we could identify should be added to the email list with a clear option to unsubscribe. Stefano Bonetti (FYSIKUM) took on the responsibility of creating the mailing list and an email address for SU Young Faculty.



# § 6 Young Faculty Leadership/Organization

Information on how the sister organization at other Swedish universities (Örebro university, Karolinska institute, Lund University, Linköping university, Sahlgrenska academy, Uppsala university) was discussed.

It was decided that the SU Young Faculty should be governed by a steering committee consisting of active members as well as an elected chair, vice-chair and secretary. The steering committee will also include representatives from each of the four science faculty sections (chemistry, biology, mathematics / physics and geo- and environmental sciences). These representatives will represent the Young Faculty at the different section board meetings. It was furthermore decided that the Young Faculty should work for the right to attend and voice opinions at the faculty board meetings so that the Young Faculty chair or vice-chair can guard the interests of the Young Faculty.

#### Decision on leadership:

Chair: Anne Soerensen (ACES)
Vice chair: Tara Hessa (DBB)
Secretary: Nir Fluman (DBB)
Section representatives:
Biology: Lovisa Lundholm
Chemistry: Åsa Tellgren-Roth
Math/physics: Svante Hedström

Earth and Environmental Science: Jana Johansson

The selected persons will have the mandate to represent the Young Faculty for one year until election/re-election is held.

# § 7 Frequency of meetings

It was decided that the Young Faculty will meet in close proximity to the dates of the Section Board meetings. The steering committee meetings will be open for all members.

#### § 8 Budget

The sister organizations at other Swedish universities (see above) have an average budget of 300,000 kr, lowest is Sahlgrenska academy with 25,000 kr and highest Örebro and Linköping Universities with 600,000 kr.



In addition to these funds, the leadership of the sister organizations (chairman, vice-chairman, administrators, etc.) gets between 10-20% salary support from their respective faculty or dean, depending on the size of their organization (number of members). Henrietta Nielsen was tasked with writing a document applying for financial support from the science faculty.

For the Young Faculty at Stockholm University, it was decided to ask the science faculty for 20% support for salary for two people; chair and vice-chair. Salary support is intended as compensation for the interference with their regular employment. In addition to support for the chair and vice-chair, it was decided to ask the science faculty to fund a budget of 150,000 kr the first fiscal year. This amount may be adjusted upwards in the next fiscal year. These funds will cover travel for Young Faculty representatives to the national meetings organized for sister organizations twice a year, costs incurred in connection with steering group meetings (coffee or lunch), as well as costs incurred when arranging workshops, retreats etc.

# § 9 Focus areas

The Young Faculty will serve as support for young researchers as well as it will form an information channel to and from decision-making bodies within the science faculty. The focus areas for the first year of operation was decided to be as follows:

- Support/information on how and where to apply for research grants
- Create career services for young researchers including postdocs
- Acting as information channel for new Young Faculty employees guidance to A-kassa etc.
- Forum for discussing promotion from assistant professors to associate professors and the rules for becoming a docent.
- Area-wide policy for:
  Having short-term contract as a researcher and how it affects research applications and research funds
  Rewarding non-tenure track staff (researchers) who receive larger grants and researchers who teach
- Collaboration with sister organizations at other Swedish universities
- Create mentor program for young researchers outside the tenure-track system.

#### § 10 Collaboration with the National Junior Faculty (http://www.nationaljf.se)

The National Junior Faculty, an umbrella organization for organizations similar to



the SU Young Faculty, arranges biannual meetings. The next meeting will be the 8-9 February in Örebro. It was decided to send a SU Young Faculty representative to the next meeting (fall 2018) if we are able to fund it within our budget.

# § 11 The meeting ended

2018-02-05:

Henrietta Nielsen

# Present at the meeting

Renuha Kudva

Åsa Tellgren-Roth

Stefano Bonetti

Henrietta Nielsen

Anne Soerensen

Svante Hedström

Bo Lindberg

Jana Johansson

Harshad Pathak

Daniel Schleisinger

Grant Kemp

Jörgen Gladh

Claudia Mohr

Tara Hessa

Ane Metola Martinez

Nina Schiller

Helena Larsdotter Hellström

Valentin Mansanarez

**Arvid Bring** 

Ylva Sjöberg

Inna Biryukova

Fang Tao

Henry Ampah-Korsah

Foivos Perakis

Katrin Amman-Winkel

Lovisa Lundholm

Nir Fluman

Oleksii Skorokho