1. You are here:
  2. Start
  3. Faculty of Science
  4. About us
  5. Organisation

Management of the Faculty of Science

The Faculty of Science is divided into four sections: The Mathematics-Physics Section, The Chemistry Section, The Biology Section and the Section for Earth and Environmental Sciences.

Board of Science

The highest governing body of the faculty is the Board of Science. The Dean chairs the Board of Science, while the Assistant Dean is Vice Chair. The Board of Science is responsible for the faculty's strategic plan, determines the budgets for the departments, decides which employment vacancies are to be announced together with the associated job descriptions, writes public consultative documents, determines the syllabus for research education and for undergraduate education and draws up guidelines for the faculty's departments. The term of office of the current Board of Science is from 1 January 2015 until 31 December 2017.


The Faculty of Science consists of four sections and 17 departments. Other bodies include four additional research centres/institutes and four field stations.

Office of Science

The Office of Science serves as administrative support for the faculty and its departments, as well as to the Vice-Chancellor and the Director of Administration.



Faculty of Science
Stockholm University
106 91 Stockholm

Visiting adress

Faculty of Science
Universitetsvägen 14 A
Södra huset, A5
Stockholm University

For directions see: Getting to the University

Other contacts


Faculty of Science 2017

The folder is a brief presentation of the Faculty containing information about students, staff, finances and management. The folder can be distributed in connection with staff recruitments and visits, for example.

Faculty of Science 2017

The printed folder can be ordered from